Meegan Fitzharris MLA - Member for Yerrabi

Minister for Higher Education, Training and Research; Minister for Transport and Municipal Services; Assistant Health Minister; Member for Molonglo

Donate Now

Volunteer for Meegan

Meegan Fitzharris was elected the Member for Molonglo on 16 January 2015 following a countback after the resignation of Chief Minister Katy Gallagher.

Meegan is currently the Minister for Transport and Municipal Services, Minister for Higher Education, Training and Research and Assistant Health Minister. She was previously involved in a number of standing committees and is currently the Labor Caucus Secretary.

Meegan grew up in New Zealand and Singapore before coming to Australia in 1998. She moved to Canberra in 2000 and now lives in Gungahlin with her husband and three young children.

She loves her local community and is proud to be the only Gungahlin resident in the Assembly. Meegan has been involved in a number of local community groups, including as a board member of the Gungahlin Regional Community Service (now Comunities@Work), a member of her school community council and an executive member of the Gungahlin Community Council.

Meegan has a public policy background and worked for the NSW Police during the 2000 Sydney Olympics, as a senior policy manager for the Australian Federal Police and for the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department. She has worked in hospitality, been a stay-at-home-mum, run her own home-based business and worked as a consultant. She completed internships at Oxfam NZ and at the United Nations Headquarters in New York. Most recently she was an adviser to Chief Minister Andrew Barr.

Meegan’s values are based on growth, opportunity and fairness. She loves Canberra and wants our city to be vibrant, with knowledge based jobs, world class schools, a high-quality health system and an integrated transport network. She is particularly passionate about Gungahlin and making sure Australia’s fastest growing region has the infrastructure and services it needs.

Meegan is currently the Member for Molonglo, but will stand for ACT Labor in the new electorate of Yerrabi at the 2016 ACT Election. Yerrabi is made up of all the Gungahlin suburbs, the Belconnen suburbs of Evatt, McKellar, Giralang, Kaleen and Lawson, and the village of Hall.


A: ACT Legislative Assembly, GPO Box 1020, Canberra, ACT 2601 | P: (02) 6205 0051

Facebook Twitter Email